Examiners

The BGA provides support to gliding examiners operating at BGA clubs. The BGA examiner system is currently being transitioned to a Part-SFCL compliant system.


BGA examiner qualifications

BGA

A Full Rated instructor can assess/test for the BGA Bronze and Cross-Country Endorsements.

A Regional Examiner can assess/test BGA gliding instructors.


BGA examiner guidance and standards

The BGA publication the BGA Examiner Standards  details BGA examiner requirements and examining standards; all Regional Examiners or prospective examiners as well as BGA Full Rated instructors who carry out Bronze and Cross Country endorsement tests should be familiar with the detail.

A suitably experienced full rated instructor who would like to become a Regional Examiner can discuss the way forward with their Senior Regional Examiner.


BGA examiner application form

The BGA examiner application form is available here.


SFCL examiner guidance and standards

Any SFCL sailplane examiner operating at a BGA club must adhere to the required standards. Please refer to the SFCL Flight Examiner Handbook.

Only those holding a Flight Examiner (Sailplanes) certificate can examine for an SFCL qualification. An SFCL FE(S) is authorised to examine as detailed on her/his examiner licensing certificate issued by the CAA. Eg:

SFCL.415.FE applies as in

(a) – which refers in SFCL.415 as SPL skill tests

(b) – which refers in SFCL.415 as Extension of SPL to TMG skill tests

(c) – which refers in SFCL.415 as (i) Assessment of competence for the FI(S) in sailplanes, and (ii) FI(S) in TMGs


BGA regions

Examining regions have been established to provide clubs and their members with co-ordinated support.  Each regional team of instructor coaches and examiners is led by a Senior Regional Examiner. The regions and clubs are listed here.


Examiner contacts

The gliding examiner contacts are:

Instructor Committee Chairman           
Training Standards Manager
Mike Foxmike@gliding.co.uk07752 615368
Motor Glider Training Standards
Paul Whiteheadpf.whitehead@btinternet.com07773614857SRE SLMG
Towing Training Standards
Derren Francisderrenfrancis@aol.com07880558120CRI(A)
Aerobatics Training Standards
Colin Shortcolin_short@sky.com07740 630590SRE Aeros
North West & North Wales
Ged TerryGed.Terry@baesystems.com01642 313708BGA SRE
Bob Pettiferbobepet@aol.comBGA RE
Pete Desmonddesmond.p@me.comBGA RE
Mike Foxmike@gliding.co.ukBGA RE
Simon Adlardsadlard@dircon.co.ukBGA RE
Steve Malestevecmale@aol.comBGA RE
South West & South Wales
Graham Morrisgrahamdmorris@aol.com 01454 322606BGA SRE
SE(S)
Tony Parkertonyparker213@sky.comBGA RE
Andy Millerandy@asmiller.freeserve.co.ukBGA RE
FE(S)
SE(S)
Simon Minsonsimonandjules@aol.comBGA RE
North East
Derek Smithdereksmith_sre@btinternet.com07941570413BGA SRE
SE(S)
Paul Whiteheadpf.whitehead@btinternet.comBGA RE
John Maddisonjmaddison.pmaddison@btinternet.comBGA RE
Les Merrittlrmouse1@aol.comBGA RE
John Sentancejohn.sentance@btinternet.comBGA RE
Andy MasonBGA RE
Chris Pricechris.sw.price@hotmail.co.ukBGA RE
Roy Ferguson-Dallingr.fergusondalling@icloud.com07979 568749BGA RE
South East
Patrick Naegelipatrick_naegeli@hotmail.com07836 357394BGA SRE
FE(S)
SE(S)
Colin Wattwattc@lasham.org.uk
BGA RE
FE(S)
SE(S)
Gordon MacDonaldgordon.dmacdonald@googlemail.comBGA RE
Barrie Elliottbarrieelliott@btinternet.comBGA RE
FE(S)
Tony Moulangtony.moulang@talktalk.netBGA RE
Scotland & Borders
Kate Byrnekatefbyrne@gmail.comBGA SRE
Nick Norman & Robert Tait(designate)To be appointed
Thames Valley
John Garrettjgarrett4@toucansurf.com07801 490785BGA SRE
FE(S)
SE(S)
Pete Brownpbrown196@hotmail.co.ukBGA RE
Pete Strattenpete@gliding.co.ukBGA RE
FE(S)
Dave Bullockbullockda406@gmail.com
BGA RE
Martyn Pikempikey@aol.comBGA RE
Colin Daveycolin.davey1@ntlworld.comBGA RE
Daniel Chilcotdanchilcot87@gmail.comBGA RE
Richard Crockettcfi@bookergliding.co.ukBGA RE
FE(S)
East Anglia
Andrew Rochandrew@andrewroch.co.uk
BGA SRE
FE(S)
SE(S)
Dave Munrodave@munro.cloud07858 103815BGA RE
FE(S)
SE(S)
Martin Daymartin@martindaycs.co.ukBGA RE
Paul Ruskinpaul@ruskin.me.uk07768 615278BGA RE

 

CAA examiners can be found through the CAA website.

For guidance on available powered examiners based within gliding, please contact your Senior Regional Examiner or lizzie@gliding.co.uk