It is a personal responsibility of pilots to be fit for flight, and especially to recognise the adverse effects of short term illness, alcohol, drugs, or fatigue. Medical requirements are summarised below.

BGA Medical Requirements

The BGA accepts differing levels of fitness matched to various risk exposures as described in the BGA medical requirements listed under BGA ‘Laws and Rules’. Where licence privileges are being used, CAA published medical requirements replace BGA medical requirements.

CAA Medical Requirements

The Aviation safety (amendment) regulations 2021 introduce amendments to UK Part MED and UK SFCL to permit use of a medical declaration. The CAA has published details of how the CAA Pilot Medical Declaration may be utilised with immediate effect in Part 21 and non-Part 21 G-registered aircraft operating in the UK only.

SPL holders

SPL holders may exercise all the privileges of an SPL (which can include passenger carrying and instructing) with a CAA Pilot Medical Declaration, or a class 2 medical certificate, or a LAPL medical certificate.

SPL conversion

Holders of a BGA-issued Glider Pilot’s Certificate can use the CAA Pilot Medical Declaration when making an initial conversion application for a Part-SFCL SPL.

Pilots training under SFCL (ie from latest 8 Dec 21)

Student pilots who in future are training under SFCL will need to hold at least a LAPL medical to apply for their SPL. Those SPL holders will be able to subsequently revert to a CAA pilot medical declaration.

Full details are published by the CAA here.

The BGA medical requirements will be updated to reflect the changes.

Medical Requirements in the EU

EASA Part-MED rules apply within the EU and other EASA member states.

BGA Medical Advisor

A BGA medical advisor can be contacted via the BGA office.