BGA Trophy Winners

Each of these trophies are presented at the BGA Annual dinner. This year’s winners are below. If you enter the national ladder, your flights will automatically be entered for the trophies, but you can apply for a trophy without entering the ladder by emailing the BGA.

The rules for the trophies can be found by clicking here.



2018 Winner

(handicapped distances and speeds)

BGA 1000k Trophy

Fastest flight over 1000km

Russell Cheetham

1003.1Km @ 106.7kph


Open National Ladder winner

Trevor Stuart

28,156 Points

Firth Vickers

Open National Ladder – Second Place

Ed Downham

28,065 Points

L Du Garde Peach

Weekend National Ladder Winner

Paul Fritche

23,959 Points


Weekend National Ladder – Second Place

Tom Arscott

21,880 Points


Junior Ladder Winner

Finn Sleigh

24,585 Points

Chris Wills

Wooden Ladder Winner

Adrian Emck

22,495 Points

University Ladder

University Ladder Winner

Imperial College

24,219 Points


Longest Handicapped Distance

Andy Aveling

1010.5Km Actual


Fastest Handicapped Triangle

Finn Sleigh

614.4 Km (Actual) @ 81.8 kph

California in England

Longest Handicapped Distance by a female pilot

Wendy Head

755Km (Actual) @ 95.8 kph


Longest Handicapped Out and Return

Andy Holmes

622.7Km (Actual) @ 79.9 kph


Longest Handicapped Distance in a 2 seater

Andy Aveling

1010.5Km (Actual) @ 97 kph

Frank Foster

Fastest Handicapped 500 Km

John Williams

156.0 kph Actual


Fastest Handicapped 300 Km

John Williams

156.0 kph Actual

Rex Pilcher

Earliest Diamond Distance

Tom Pridgeon


10th May 2018

De Havilland

Maximum Gain of Height

John Tanner

26,939 ft


Highest placed pilot in Recent World Championships

Steve Jones / Garry Coppin

Second place in the 35th WGC, Hosin, Czech Republic

Phil Lever

Most Promising Junior Pilot

Henry Inigo-Jones

John Hands

For outstanding support in the organising or running of competitions

Andy Melville


Nominated by the Competitions Committee


Club with most new cross-country endorsements as proportion of number of instructors

The Upward Bound Trust

Hayward Aviation Award

For Instructor Excellence

Steven Lambourne

Philip Wills Enterprise Trophy

John Williams

Alex Ward Trophy

Pete Hibbard