Examiners

The BGA provides support to volunteer gliding examiners operating at BGA clubs. Each region has a Senior Regional Examiner and a team of Regional Examiners. The BGA examiner system is currently being transitioned to an EASA Part-FCL compliant system.


Examiner Guidance and Standards

All examiners or prospective examiners as well as Full Rated instructors who carry out Bronze and Cross Country endorsement tests should read the BGA publication ‘Examiner guidance‘.

A suitably experienced instructor who would like to become an examiner can discuss the way forward with their Senior Regional Examiner.


Examiner Forms

Examiner forms are available here.


Examiner Publications

Examiner publications are available here.


Examiner Contacts

The gliding examiner contacts are:

Instructor Committee Chairman           
Colin Swordcolin@lovat-fraser.co.uk07876 156991
Training Standards Manager
Mike Foxmike@gliding.co.uk07752 615368
Motor Glider Training Standards
Paul Whiteheadpf.whitehead@btinternet.com07773614857SRE SLMG
Towing Training Standards
Derren Francisderrenfrancis@aol.com07880558120CRI(A)
Aerobatics Training Standards
Colin Shortcolin_short@sky.com07740 630590SRE Aeros
North West & North Wales
Ged TerryGed.Terry@baesystems.com01642 313708SRE
Bob Pettiferbobepet@aol.comBGA RE
Pete Desmonddesmond.p@me.comBGA RE
Mike Foxmike@gliding.co.ukBGA RE
Simon Adlardsadlard@dircon.co.ukBGA RE
South West & South Wales
Graham Morrisgrahamdmorris@aol.com01454 322606SRE
Tony Parkertonyparker213@sky.comBGA RE
Andy Millerandy@asmiller.freeserve.co.ukBGA RE
Simon Minsonsimonandjules@aol.comBGA RE
Adam Clarkeadamclarke145@hotmail.comBGA RE
North East
Derek Smithdereksmith_sre@btinternet.com07941570413SRE
Paul Whiteheadpf.whitehead@btinternet.comBGA RE
John Maddisonjmaddison.pmaddison@btinternet.comBGA RE
Les Merrittlrmouse1@aol.comBGA RE
Alan Wrigleyalanwrigley@hotmail.co.ukBGA RE
John Sentancejohn.sentance@btinternet.comBGA RE
Bob Foxbobfox@freezone.co.ukBGA RE
Chris Pricechris.sw.price@hotmail.co.ukBGA RE
South East
Patrick Naegelipatrick_naegeli@hotmail.com07836 357394SRE
Colin Wattcolin.watt@lasham.org.ukBGA RE
Gordon MacDonaldgordon.dmacdonald@googlemail.comBGA RE
Barrie Elliottbarrieelliott@btinternet.comBGA RE
Scotland & Borders
Colin Swordcolin@lovat-fraser.co.uk0787 61 56 991SRE
Colin Hamiltoncjh1959@gmail.comBGA RE
Kate Byrnek.byrne@ed.ac.ukBGA RE
Thames Valley
John Garrettjgarrett4@toucansurf.com07801 490785SRE
Pete Brownpbrown196@hotmail.co.ukBGA RE
Pete Strattenpete@gliding.co.ukBGA RE
Dave Bullockbullockda@talk21.comBGA RE
Andrew Rochandy@londonglidingclub.comBGA RE
Andy Perkinsandyp917@hotmail.comBGA RE
Martyn Pikempikey@aol.comBGA RE
Colin Daveycolin.davey1@ntlworld.comBGA RE
Daniel Chilcotdanchilcot87@gmail.comBGA RE
East Anglia
Dave Munrodavemunro@btconnect.com07858 103815SRE
Robert Theilrobtheil@aol.comBGA RE

The powered/SLMG examiners and who does what are:

TEST OR CHECK REQUIREDEXAMINER
Rating revalidation by experienceR (Most other examiner authorisations also include the authority to revalidate by experience)Initial appointment and revalidation/renewal
By the CAA after recommendation by the BGA

Process
Candidate to complete CAA forms (SRG1128) and send them to the BGA with a covering letter from his/her club's CFI or Chairman.

Before approving the application and returning it to the applicant for onwards posting to the CAA, the BGA will consult with the Instructors Committee Chairman, the BGA SRE(MG) and the BGA Chief Exec.
NPPL Ground ExamsGR(SLMG) or GR(M)
NPPL SLMG
flight tests and ground exams
XMG
JAR-FCL TMG flight testsFE(PPL) or TMG
Initial issue of CAA FI(SLMG)FIE
Revalidation/ renewal of
CAA's FI(SLMG)
FIE or “BGA Panel Examiner” (CAP804, Section 5 Part H, Subpart 2, Page 4).
Use CAA Instructor Form 3 SRG 1135
A BGA Panel Examiner is defined by the BGA: “A BGA SRE or RE who also holds a CAA CAA FE, FIE or XMG Authorisation and the FI(SLMG) rating .”
Initial issue, revalidation/ renewal & upgrades of BGA MGIRA BGA SRE or RE who also holds the rating in question
Number Of Examiners
The Association will aim to ensure that the number of examiners in each region is balanced against the regions needs.

Payment
CAA fees are to be paid by candidates. 50% of the revalidation but not initial or lapsed rating renewal fees may be re-claimed from the BGA at its discretion by examiners active within the Association.

Advice – taken from the CAA’s TRAININGCOM 1/2008
“We regularly receive applications from instructors to be authorised as examiners, particularly FE PPL. Sometimes we have difficulty justifying the authorisation of additional examiners as our records indicate that several are already listed as available, either at that particular airfield, or within a reasonable distance. Further enquiries often reveal, however, that some of these examiners have moved on, are no longer active or are otherwise unavailable for test.

Therefore, if you are (or know of) an examiner who is no longer active, please inform (or prompt him/her to inform) the CFE via PLD at Gatwick to enable us to update our list of examiner availability.

Whilst on the topic of examiner availability: all examiners are expected to be professional and courteous and their integrity should be above reproach. They should also be impartial and apply the test and check standards fairly, without favour and to common standards. Therefore, although it may seem advantageous for schools and clubs to have a designated examiner on the staff, it should not be necessary.”

Andy Miller  SRE(MG)

FIE (SLMG)
XMG
FE(PPL) TMG
GR(SLMG)

Wiltshire

01249 821031

Andy Aveling

XMG

CRI (SEP/TMG)

 

Lasham

07880 730255

Peter Brown

FI(SLMG)

Halton

pbrown196@hotmail.co.uk
07920105195
01296 420428

Ray Brownrigg

FI(SLMG)
XMG
GR(SLMG

Oxfordshire Sportflying
Enstone

01608 677208
osf@enstoneaerodrome.co.uk

Dave Bullock

BGA RE

Bicester

07901 553 341
bullockda@talk21.com

Gordon Burkett

GR(SLMG)
R

Bidford

01789 772606
07957 587671

David Cockburn

FE (PPL) SEP, SSEA TMG, SLMG, GR

LN8 3BH
RH6 7EJ

07715 366 239
d.cockburn229@btinternet.com

Jon Cooke

FIE(a) (SEP, TMG, MEP & Microlights)
FE (PPL) (SEP, TMG, Microlight)
FI (A) (SEP, TMG, Microlight)
GR and RFT examiner

Tatenhill, Wellesbourne

0777 345 9756
flyingstuff@hotmail.com

Andy Durston

CRI (TMG,SEP), R

Portsmouth

07863 292310
cfi@pngc.co.uk

Barrie Elliott

X(MG)

SO32 3PQ

barrieelliott@btinternet.com

Derren Francis

R
CRI

Bicester

07880 558120
derrenfrancis@aol.com

John Garrett

BGA RE Thames Valley

FE
CRI
XMG

Bicester

jgarrett@toucansurf.com

Don Irving

FE (PPL, SLMG)

Portmoak

01592 840359
donirving@btinternet.com

Matt Lane

FE(PPL) (SEP, TMG)

Oxfordshire/ Gloucestershire

07725 048651
mattlane637@yahoo.co.uk

Justin Lavender

EASA PPL FE (SEP land & TMG) NPPL

EASA PPL FI (SEP land & TMG) NPPL

CAA Ground Examiner

Wales/West Midlands

jjdlavender@gmail.com

07775 644199

Mick Lee

FI SEP TMG(SLMG)
FE SEP TMG(SLMG)

NG34 8WY

01529 303249 (H)
01909 481802(W)

Colin McInnes

FI(A) (SEP, TMG, SLMG)

Halton

01296630487
07950 171119
cjmcinnes@hotmail.com

Ian Mitchell

FE (TMG)

Devon & Somerset

07977 230067
m1txh@hotmail.co.uk

Ian Kennedy

FI (SLMG), R

South Wales

07957 195443
ian.kennedy10@btinternet.com

Jonathan May

FI (SLMG)

FE(A) TMG
CRI (SEP,TMG,M)
R

Bicester
Long Marston

FI{at}JonathanMay.co.uk
zero7793 590334

Les Merritt

GR
FI & FE (SLMG)
CRI SEP

Buckminster

01572 812911

Dave Munro

XMG
GR & FI (SLMG)
SR

Tibbenham

01502 712389
07858 103815

Alastair Mutch

R

Portmoak

07785 264511

Patrick Naegeli

SRE(South East)
FE (SLMG)
GR (SLMG)

RG25 2RF

07836 357394

Alan Nicholson

FE(PPL)

NE Scotland

07837 465 147

Andrew Roch

BGA RE (Thames)
FI(SLMG)
GR(SLMG)
XMG (SLMG)

Dunstable

andy@londonglidingclub.com

George Ross

XMG GR (SLMG)

Portmoak & Oban (Connell)

0131 665 0998
07711 305393

Chula Rupasinha

R

London

07769 920076

Colin Sword

FE (PPL & SLMG)
SXM
GR

Scotland & N England

07876 156991
colin@lovat-fraser.co.uk

Clive Stainer

TMG

Hinton in the Hedges

07970 179 527
http://www.pilotflighttraining.com

Pete Stratten

E (SLMG)/XMG
BGA RE

Northants

07749908444 Note – can arrange for PPL theoretical knowledge examinations to be taken by BGA club members during office hours at BGA HQ

Paul Whitehead

GR (SLMG)
X(MG)
CRI for tugs
R Examiner
BGA RE(MG)

Yorkshire

01904 737254
pf.whitehead@btinternet.com

Steve Williams

GR
FI(SLMG)

Southdown GC

07747 790706

Alan Wrigley

BGA RE
FIE
CAA FIE/IRE/FE(CPL)/FE(PPL)
CRE for MEP/SEP/TMG
CAA SE(S), FIE/FE Gliders and TMG

Rufforth

alanwrigley@hotmail.co.uk
07831 401120

Ian Atherton

FI(SLMG) R.

CRI A (SE & TMG), R.

Oxfordshire

ianav8r@gmail.com

07712 674242

Lee Ingram

FI (SEP) (TMG)

FE (TMG) (SLMG)

XMG

GR (SLMG)

RFT Examiner

MotorGlide

Wellesbourne

www.motorglide.co.uk

lee@motorglide.co.uk

07976 985689