BGA Inspectors

The BGA Airworthiness Exposition details the certifying staff and maintenance requirements that define the BGA Inspector authorisation.

As described in the BGA Airworthiness Exposition, all work, other than ‘Pilot/Owner Maintenance’, carried out on aircraft under the control of the BGA airworthiness system is to be certified by an appropriately authorised BGA Inspector.

BGA inspectors are a highly valued and important part of UK gliding. Their experience and skills are regularly relied on by gliding clubs and private owners. BGA authorised inspectors are required to understand and comply with the applicable airworthiness and maintenance requirements, including the BGA Airworthiness Exposition and the AMP.

UK retained EU regulation requires BGA inspectors to hold a UK Part-66 licence with the correct category to certify Part-21 sailplanes, powered sailplanes, TMGs and aeroplanes. A UK Part 66 licence is valid for 5 years from the date of issue.

This webpage describes the experience requirements to qualify for and maintain a BGA inspector rating and how to qualify for and maintain a Part-66L licence.

BGA Inspector

BGA inspector requirements

BGA inspector PER example

BGA inspector application flowchart

BGA inspector experience assessment

BGA inspector biographical details

BGA inspector rating issue or extension application form


Part-66L regulation

Part66L e-exams and module information

Part-66L theoretical knowledge testing.

The Part66L examinations are only available online. The first step is for the candidate to register for the CAA customer portal. Once registered, the candidate can then engage with e-examination process. This candidate user guide explains in detail.

The training organisation is BGA and the reference number is GBR.DTO.0007.

Booked examinations are managed by BGA invigilators who have been specifically approved by the CAA. Candidates are encouraged to contact the BGA office in good time so that an invigilator can be allocated for an online examination.

Further guidance is available from the BGA Chief Technical Officer.

Part-66L licence CAA application process


AC43-13-1B (FAA)

AC43-13-2B (FAA)

BGA airworthiness and maintenance webpages 

CAA Part-66 webpage

CAP393 (CAA)

CAP747 (CAA)

Continuing Airworthiness Regulations (CAA)


Standard repairs to gliders (BGA)